Revenir à Nouvelles échiquéennes

The Week in Chess

The Paris Grand Chess Tour Rapid and Blitz tournament takes place 20th to 24th June 2018. Players: Fabiano Caruana, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Vladimir Kramnik (Wild Card), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Sergey Karjakin, Wesley So, Hikaru Nakamura, Alexander Grischuk, Levon Aronian and Viswanathan Anand.
The Cez Trophy was a 12 game rapid match between David Navara and Pentala Harikrishna in Prague, 13th to 16th June. Time control: 20 minutes +10 seconds per move. Harikrishna was a last minute stand in for Ding Liren who fractured his hip in Norway. Harikrishna won the match 7-5 after winning all three games on the final day.
The YourNextMove Rapid and Blitz tournament that took place in Leuven, Belgium 12th-16th June was the first event in the 2018 Grand Chess Tour. Players: Caruana, Mamedyarov, MVL, Karjakin, Giri, So, Nakamura, Grischuk, Aronian, Anand. Wesley So just hung on to win the event in the blitz section after having a large lead by winning the rapid. Full tables below. The format will be repeated in Paris 20th to 24th June 2018.
The 1st Schaakweek Apeldoorn took place 7th to 17th June 2018. 9th seed Hugo Ten Hertog won the GM tournament on tie-break from Tiger Hillarp-Persson after both finished on 6pts/9.
The Luohu Grand Master Rapid and Blitz Match took place 12th to 14th June 2018. Yu Yangyi plays Peter Svidler in a match of 8 rapid and 10 blitz games.\r\nPeter Svidler won the rapid match 6-2 including 5 wins in a row, these games were worth double the blitz games in the final standings, Yu won the blitz part of the match 6.5-3.5 including winning 4 of the last 5 games. The final score was 15.5-10.5 in Svidler\'s favour.
The 13th American Continental Championship took place in Montevideo, Uruguay 1st to 10th June 2018. Leading players: Samuel Shankland, Jorge Cori, Jeffery Xiong, Sandro Mareco, Emilio Cordova, Diego Flores, Neuris Delgado Ramirez, Cristhian Cruz, Awonder Liang, Alan Pichot, Sergey Erenburg, Federico Perez Ponsa, Elshan Moradiabadi, Krikor Sevag Mekhitarian, Jose Eduardo Martinez Alcantara, Felipe de Cresce El Debs, Diego Rafael Di Berardino, Salvador Alonso etc, Top seed Sam Shankland was a convincing winner with 9/11 half a point clear of Diego ...
The 5th Altibox Norway Chess took place May 27 - June 8 2018. The 10 player field is: Aronian, Anand, Carlsen, Mamedyarov, MVL, Caruana, Karjakin, Nakamura and Wesley So, Ding Liren injured himself cycling on the rest day and had to withdraw after 3 rounds. Fabiano Caruana won a thrilling game against Wesley So to take clear first place and avoid a five way blitz tie-break. Wesley So blundered finally on move 41 when he still had a draw in ...
The French Team Championship Top 12 took place in Brest 26th May to 5th June 2018.\r\nLeading players: Wojtaszek, Navara,\r\nDuda, Li Chao, Bacrot, Kryvoruchko, Eljanov,\r\nNaiditsch, Malakhov, Rodshtein, Ragger,\r\nLaznicka, Van Wely, Sasikiran, Jobava,\r\nKuzubov, Riazantsev, Safarli, Moiseenko,\r\nFressinet, Van Foreest, Fedorchuk etc. Bischwiller (Naiditsch, Bacrot, Rodshtein) were convincing winners
The 19th Karpov Poikovsky tournament took place 26th May to 6th June 2018. \r\nPlayers: Nepomniachtchi, Jakovenko, Vidit, Fedoseev, \r\nArtemiev, Gelfand, Korobov, Kovalev, Sutovsky and Bologan.\r\n\r\nDmitry Jakovenko took clear first with 6.5/9 half a point clear of Ian Nepomniachtchi and Boris Gelfand (his best result in some time, he looked back to near his best after a slow start).
The Saint Louis Summer Chess Classic took place 15th-23rd May 2018. Two GM Groups. A Group: Durarbayli, Akobian, Sevian, Bok, Zherebukh, Indjic, Xiong, Prohaszka, Fridman and Jumabayev. Vasif Durarbayli won the a-group after beating Varuzhan Akobian 2-0 in a rapid tie-break after both finishing on 6/9. Kamil Dragun won the b-group.